Blue Jobs

Have I ever told you guys that in between all of the dating, the working and the parenting, I’m also renovating a house?

Ok, so renovation sounds like it’s extreme and conjures images of taking walls back to the bare bricks, having wires and pipes exposed. But I don’t have another word to describe it, and decorating feels way too simple to describe what I have been doing. I’ve been in the house for nearly 5 years, which means the work I have already got round to doing needs re-doing and then there’s still stuff that I never did and that needs doing too. I can’t actually finish a job. Example, I have a the most gorgeous bathroom, but…I still have some small jobs to finish, painting the ceiling, fitting the skirting. And you see this all through the house. Not one single room is actually finished because all the jobs that you leave to the end, I never end up doing because I’m always so quick to move onto my next project.

So as you can tell, I’m renovating a house but I’m not very good at it.

But renovation has given me a set of skills I wouldn’t normally have. I’ve learned how to tile, I’ve learned how to skim, I’ve learned how to hang things on a wall. I’ve learned some basic plumbing, I know where my stop tap is, I can locate my fuse board and I know which switch does what. I can replace light switches and plug sockets and I can even feed electrical wires through walls.

All these things I couldn’t previously do before living on my own that I have had to learn, simply because I don’t come from a family of DIY-ers. I’m not complaining, I’m glad I have these skills. And I truly believe that basic DIY for women is a necessity. But we only do it out of necessity.

I don’t think I’d be in a minority for saying I want a man who can do these things instead. And be willing to do them for me?

DIY is what I consider a blue job. A blue job is a chore that a woman can do but shouldn’t have to. Fulfilling a blue job is seen as chivalrous in my eyes. and blue jobs lead to blow jobs.

Examples of blue jobs:

DIY – filling walls, replacing bulbs, thermostats etc

Taking out Bins

Going in the garage

Going up the loft

I’m currently in the process of planning my new dream kitchen. It’s the one room I haven’t touched since I moved in. Well, I re-plastered the ceiling and took the wallpaper off.

I’ve had a number of design teams round to bring my vision to life and to provide quotes and honestly, this is the first thing I have been excited about in a while. And I’m doing it on my own. Which is fine, as I’m used to doing everything on my own, that’s the way it’s been for the last 5 years near enough. But it doesn’t feel quite right to me. My boyfriend and I have been seeing each other for nearly 11 months and isn’t interested or doesn’t want any input.

If this was a casual relationship and I wasn’t thinking about a future where we might live together, then fine. But we have talked about this possibility so you would think that assisting me with my kitchen plans would be something he’d be interested in.

But he’s not. So is this an example of words not matching actions.

No idea how this ended up being another woe is me tale of dating, I really just wanted a break from all the questioning and worry but, the problem with anxiety, is that it manifests and pushing it down does little to help. I have to speak my truth, and if I don’t then things spiral see Witty Title – Speaking My Truth.

Truth is, as much as GG and I have an amazing time together when we travel and go away, we’re not much of a team in a domestic setting. Parenting, chores, support for projects. It’s just not there. Maybe it’s because he hasn’t had to. Maybe it’s because he’s lazy. Or maybe it’s just because he doesn’t see a future together so why bother investing. If neither of us are adding bricks to our castle (or only one of us is), we’ll never build a fortress. That’s my metaphor on how to build a life together. Love isn’t enough. Great sex isn’t enough. Travel isn’t enough,

Or am I just asking for too much again?

I’d rather be single than settle.

4 thoughts on “Blue Jobs”

  1. I feel like youre trying to predict the future. Youre trying to manifest the future into the present, because if you can, and its what you want/hoped for, then u can relax. The sheer waiting for the future to happen is too much stress for you. Its like, you want this fortress future together…and youre trying to put the bricks in his hand now before the cement is ready?

    Im most likely right off the mark here, and im forever team goose, but i see you write I’d rather be single than settle and i worry.

    How long have you been together?
    I dont know if things can be rushed

    And honestly, as a married woman, i dont rely on him for anything. Not because he cant or wont do x,y,z. But because i CAN do x,y,z. I keep my independence.

    Decorate YOUR kitchen however YOU want to. Its yours. When the time comes you go to live together..then consider a whole new place that you will decorate together…so it starts as OURS.

    From a flued up, barely alive half human xx (p.s sorry if the above is nonsensical bullshit)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. No, it’s a reality check and you are wonderful at doing that for me.
    I’m don’t feel like I’m trying to predict the future. It’s more that I don’t want to go waste my time for another 3 months and it turn out that we are not on the same page.
    I want to keep my independence but I don’t want to live separate lives either which is what I feel like is happening more & more.
    My kitchen is my decision, and I agree with you there, but you’d think he’d at least be interested in knowing what my plans are? And he isn’t.
    Merging together is not easy when you have routines, and I’m a ‘my way or the highway’ kinda gal, which is unreasonable I know.
    I’m proud of what I have accomplished and glad I can say I’ve done it myself. Still, wouldn’t mind some help though now and again.

    Sorry you are still poorly. I hope you feel better soon xx

    Like

  3. Oy, girllll you are my hero! Hearing you talk about all the DIY-ing you do, my gosh I don’t think my husband knows how to do everything you know how to do (he knows a fair bit from same- googling, YouTubing and just shadowing experts) but I so commend you for teaching yourself and NOT depending on a man! That’s the one thing I miss about being single- being forced to do these things on my own (I totally see the privilege and irony of my words here but it’s true, there’s something so satisfying about knowing you did it on your own)!

    As for GG, maybe this is a seasonal relationship? Sometimes you don’t know what you got til it’s gone. I’m not saying you’re gone or that’s the way to go but at some point maybe he will realize he’s slowly losing you bit by bit, day by day…. but by then you may have closed your heart already to any future possibility of you guys together in the future? Who knows! :/

    Best of luck with your kitchen, though – it SOUNDS SOOO EXCITING! I love home renos!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment